It happened at the China Suzhou Taihu Open in 2009

On November 1st 2009, Bo Mi Suh from Korea made an 18 foot putt on the 18th hole in a windy last round and defeated Gwladys Nocera, the no. 1 ranked player on the Ladies European Tour at the time. She won the 2009 Suzhou Taihu Ladies Open by just one stroke.
The 2009 China Suzhou Taihu Open winner Bo Mi Suh of South Korea

Suh thanks her caddie, her father

On November 1st 2009, Bo Mi Suh from Korea made an 18 foot putt on the 18th hole in a windy last round and defeated Gwladys Nocera, the no. 1 ranked player on the Ladies European Tour at the time. She won the 2009 Suzhou Taihu Ladies Open by just one stroke.   

After winning, Suh urgently searched in the crowd and seemed very excited: “This is the first victory in my professional career: at this moment, I want to appreciate one specific person: he is my caddie, and he is my father!”

With 11 LET champions in the field, Suh was a surprise winner.  “It was a very grateful moment because of my first victory as professional golfer,” said Suh, who has since claimed her second win at the 2011 Korean Women's Open.

“It was my important opportunity to understand LET and make friends for LET members in European countries. It was a nice course and seems to be one of the major tournaments for ladies’ golf in China in the near future.”

Suh won after the leader Gwladys Nocera was penalised two strokes for being late on the tee.

On the 31st October, after the second round of the tournament, Cyprien Comoy, the tournament director, rushed to the media to explain what was going on. The second round score of Gwladys Nocera changed from 68 to 70 and he explained:

“We need to declare that the leader from yesterday, Gwladys Nocera, was given a penalty of two strokes because she arrived late on the first tee.

“Today before the start we heard players discussing that yesterday some players were late for their start. We were able to confirm with the starter, that there was one flight that started late. Gwladys Nocera was in that flight and it was her that didn't show up on time. She arrived within 5 minutes, so there was no need to disqualify her, but according to Rule 6-3 and LET's rules, she recived two penalty strokes.

Adding a two stroke penalty to the first hole, her score changed from par to double bogey and her total score from 68 to 70. It was because of this change that she lost the leading position and arguably the tournament victory.

 

 

 

 

 

Article from Ladies European Tour:
http://www.ladieseuropeantour.com/main_article.php?id=63028&pid=1005
Published: 15/10/2012

© 2013 Ladies European Tour
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED