Getting to know Krista Bakker from Finland

Krista Bakker topped the field of pre-qualifiers in Field C in Rabat and graduated to the Final Qualifying Tournament in Marrakech.

 

Krista Bakker, the winner of Lalla Aicha Tour School PQ C

Krista Bakker, the winner of Lalla Aicha Tour School Pre-Qualifying Field C, is an amateur, who lives in Finland, where she finished high school. We interviewed the 19-year-old from Espoo in Rabat.

Q: How and when did you start to play golf?

My dad is my coach; he is a golf coach, so I went with him one day (in summer time) to the golf course when I was eight years old and I really liked it.

Q: When was the first time you played for your National team?

Actually, we moved to Holland when I was 12, near Amsterdam, so I was also in the national team in Holland. My grandfather is Dutch and I also have that nationality. We lived there for three years and my parents worked there. But, as I was born in Finland, I used to play for this country. I was in the World Championship in Turkey in 2012 and my best performance this year was third at the European Amateur Championship 2013.

Q: What are your plans?

I would like to turn professional and focus just on golf.

Q: Who´s your golfing idol?

My female idol is Suzann Pettersen.

Q: How do you manage to practice in winter?

I normally go to Spain, Costa Ballena and Arcos Gardens. We were there last week before coming here. We have been there many times with the national team. We normally go in March and also in November. In Finland we practice inside, with the Trackman. But, I have not decided yet if I will go to Spain this year.

Q: Your preparation before coming here: how many tournaments in total have you played?

Around 8 amateur tournaments in total, but also some professional tournaments, one LETAS event, the one in Finland, and the Deloitte Ladies Open, when I was in Holland.

Q: What´s your experience when you play professional events? Do you think you are ready to play with the "pro´s"?

I learn a lot and I get a lot of experience, but I think that I am ready. Of course I would need to improve some parts of my game.

Q: Tell us about your game…

I think my driver is pretty good. I hit it far enough, not much, but it is always on the fairway. In total it is around 230 meters far. My putting is pretty constant, with an average of 29 putts.

Q: Any holes in one?

3 in total, last was three years ago.

Q: Your lowest round ever:

64, last week in Costa Ballena, practicing. Total of 8 birdies and no bogeys.

Q: What do you think you would need to improve to play in our tour?

My short game, I would need to improve my chipping and pitching. I do not make many up and downs, but it need to get better.

Q: Your future plans?

If I made it, I would like to turn professional and play on the LET the following season, but in case not, I would stay one more year as an amateur and stay in Finland. I will practice indoors.

Article from Ladies European Tour:
http://www.ladieseuropeantour.com/main_article.php?id=68269&pid=1006
Published: 17/12/2013

© 2013 Ladies European Tour
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED