Ladies European Tour
Ladies European Tour
LET SocialLET TwitterLET Facebook
LET FlickrLET YouTube
 
Sponsors & Suppliers sponsors, suppliers & partners
Lacoste Competition
2015 Solheim Cup
2014 Golf Chic Magazine
Golf Chic
MEDIA CENTRE sponsors, suppliers & partners
Sign up for the LET
NEWSLETTER
Website Login
Email:
Password:
Forgot Password?  
LET RSS feeds LET RSS feeds ladies European Tour Videos
Quick 18 with Daniela Holmqvist
 Print

 

Daniela Holmqvist from Sweden tied for 17th at Lalla Aicha Tour earning her full card for 2013.

1. Tell me something most people don't know about you.

I was born in Switzerland, moved to Italy and then lived in the US, so I’ve lived in four countries. I was born in Switzerland because my dad played professional soccer. Prior to that he played in Sweden and on the Swedish national team and in Germany, then I came along in Switzerland and then he moved to Italy with the family. He played there for a couple of years and then back to Sweden. I’ve been in the US for the last four years with college.

2.Which university did you attend?

I went to the University of California, also known as Berkeley. It’s in San Francisco. It’s a pretty cool place. It’s good in sports and academics. I think pretty much all the academic subjects are top ten in the world, so it’s really competitive both in the classroom and out of the classroom. We had a course called Media Studies, which was kind of marketing, advertising and some journalism. It’s an inspiring place to be because we had 37 athletes this year at the Olympics. The school had 17 medals this year which is a lot better than Sweden did.

3.What would you like to do for a living if you are not a pro golfer?

That’s hard! I would still do sports. I love tennis so I’d probably go for professional tennis. I have a lot of friends who play. It’s fun to watch and good exercise too.

4. How many and which languages do you speak?

I speak Swedish and English although the first language I ever learned was Italian. I don’t really speak it anymore but I can understand it. I was so young when I learned it and I left Italy when I was four or five.

5. Who would be in your dream foursome?

I think it would be cool to play with Tiger just because I’ve watched him so much. Rory McIlroy is my role model. Probably Lotta Neumann who is kind of a mentor to me, so it would be nice to play with her. She was my captain for a non-official world amateur that I played last year and I just got to know her then. We’ve been hanging out and practising together.

6. What is your favourite activity you do when you want to relax?

Probably read a good book, work out or just hang out with friends.

7. Do you have a favourite TV series?

It’s kind of sad but I must say, Inside the PGA Tour or the David Feherty Show. They have it on the Golf Channel in the US, not so much here. I love the Feherty show because it’s so many in-depth interviews with cool people. I like watching those.

8. What invention do you wish you had thought of?

So many of them! It can be really small things like the little plastic thing you put in the Starbucks cup so it won’t leak out. That’s a genius thing! There are so many things!

9.  Favourite gift you have received and from whom?

It’s a cliché but my first golf club from my grandpa when I was two.

10.  What’s your favourite tradition from your country?

I don’t know if we have any traditions. Everyone keeps on saying Swedish meat balls. I guess we have lots. It’s just drinking festivities in Sweden, pretty much!

11.  What is the one thing you have done and would never want to do again?

The beep test. The running – I hate that! You have to run to the end (of the room) before the beep.

12.  What do you feel is your biggest accomplishment to date?

I think winning my first professional event in my first year after college on the SAS Masters Tour. I won that as an amateur by three, which was fun! This was in 2009 in Sweden, the Volkswagen Series. That was the feeder tour to the Ladies European Tour back then. In my last semester in college I only had one finish that wasn’t top five, so that was good.

13.   Is there a song that you like to sing when no one is around like in the car or the shower?

Maybe, but I don’t think anyone wants to hear me sing! Right now I’m into Swedish House Mafia mode and that’s not really singing!

14.  What is your favorite store to shop in and why?

I’m a really good shopper but I buy too many things: probably Lululemon in the States (athletic wear). Also Adidas is great.

15.  What beauty product can you not live without?

Sunscreen: factor 30, probably!

16.  What is your favorite time of year?

Summer.

17.  Favourite quote or saying?

There is one Swedish saying I like from the national team, which doesn’t rhyme in English: prepare the best to achieve the most, basically.

18.  If you were stranded on a desert island, what three items would you take with you?

Is there energy there? If I bring a laptop and my iPhone, then I’ll bring the solar power.

LET Live Scoring   LETAS Live Scoring
Lacoste Ladies Open de France
Chantaco Golf Club
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Aquitaine, France
02/10/14 - 05/10/14
days
hours
mins
secs
Lacoste Ladies Open de France
Current Conditions
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, FR

Mostly Cloudy 17°
Wind: WNW 16.09 kph
Forecast
Tue - Mostly Cloudy 14°-19°
Wed - Partly Cloudy 14°-21°
ISPS Order of Merit
LET Q-School Rookie of
The Year
ladies European Tour Videos
LET Q-School LET Tour School ladies European Tour Videos
LET Q-School Honorary Membership ladies European Tour Videos
About LET Privacy Policy Site Map Job Opportunities Contact LET

Ladies European Tour Thrax Design