Ladies European Tour
Ladies European Tour
LET SocialLET TwitterLET Facebook
LET FlickrLET YouTube
Sponsors & Suppliers sponsors, suppliers & partners
2015 Solheim Cup
2014 Golf Chic Magazine
Golf Chic
MEDIA CENTRE sponsors, suppliers & partners
Sign up for the LET
Website Login
Forgot Password?  
LET RSS feeds LET RSS feeds ladies European Tour Videos
A Day in the Life of Liz Young

The current European No.27 describes a typical day at home when preparing for a golf tournament and her pre-round routine when in championship mode.

Getting married in April seems to have helped Liz Young step up a gear on the Ladies European Tour this season. After four years on tour, when she averaged 60th on the Order of Merit, her scoring average has dropped from 72.65 in 2012 to 71.96, sub-par, in 2013.

Although she had two top 10s last year, with ties for eighth and ninth in India and Ireland respectively and two further top 15 finishes, the 2013 season has been more consistent.

The top 10s are now top 5s (a tie for fourth in Slovakia and a tie for fifth in New Zealand) and the last month has seen an impressive run of four top 15 finishes in the Czech Republic, Scotland, Sweden and France.

The 30-year-old from Brokenhurst Manor Golf Club in Hampshire, England, recently spoke to us about her preparation for a tournament when on the road and at home.

A typical tournament day:

My tee time was 10:35 so the alarm went at 7:30. I got up, showered, dressed and had breakfast: a baguette with ham and a croissant, along with orange juice and white coffee.

I ensure that my hat, socks and jumper are all ready to take and make sure the granola bars are in my hand bag ready to put in my golf bag when we arrive at the course.

In France, it was a half hour ride to the golf course, so we left at 8:20 to be there at 8:50.

I went into the clubhouse and collect the pin positions for the day. I mark the pin positions in my yardage book.

In France, I had a bad ankle so I had to see the Tour osteopath Andy for 10 minutes for him to strap my ankle each day.

My pre-shot routine starts 1 hour and 10 minutes before my tee time.

I go to the range, stretch for five minutes and then start with a 52 degree wedge, just to loosen up.

I then get my alignment stick on the target and start with a 9-iron; then I hit 7-iron, 5-iron, rescue wood, 3-wood then driver. I put my alignment stick away, get my 8-iron out and pick 3 different targets and hit to them.

I take out my 56 degree and hit half shots, three quarter shots; full shots. I go to the chipping green and I hit five chips with my 56 degree, then five with my 52, I then go in the bunker with my 60 degree and hit five or six shots.

I go to the putting green for 15 minutes and start with three foot putts, then long putts, lag putts, uphill, downhill, left to rights, right to lefts and finish with six to eight feet putts. I always have to hole three putts of four feet.

I go to the tee 10 minutes before. I get two waters in the bag, two bananas, five or six tees and my ball marker is in my pocket. (I mark the balls at the beginning of the week). I get the local rules and put them in the bag.

I get my card and stats sheet and then I wait for my other players to arrive, change cards and work out what I’m going to hit on the first tee.

I don’t have a special saying or anything. There are so many shots you have to hit out there, so the first shot is no different to the rest.

A typical day at home:

I wake up at 7:15 because that’s the time my husband’s alarm goes. I kick him out to get in the shower and put on my work out clothes.

Just before 8:00, we have breakfast together. I have coffee, orange juice, yoghurt with muesli, maybe blueberries or raisins.

At 8:35 he leaves for work and I go to the gym. I do classes, power plate and spinning, two sessions for an hour, five times a week.

At 10:00 or 10:30, I come home, have a shower. We have a putting green in our back garden so I putt for a while.

At 13:00 my husband comes home so at 12:30 I prepare lunch. Because we grow tomatoes in our garden we’ve been having tomatoes on toast with basil and balsamic. He comes home between 13:00 and 14:00. We have lunch together. He goes back to work and then if the weather is good I go to the golf course.

At 14:30 I arrive at the range and I’ll be there an hour and a half to two hours.

At 16:00, or 16:30, I do some chipping. My husband finishes work at 17:30 so by 17:45 he comes and joins me at the golf club and we play six or eight holes and then we go home for dinner. We eat a lot of salmon and salad. We don’t eat deserts but always have coffee!

Most evenings we watch TV because by the time we get home it is 19:30 or 20:00. I try to get to bed by 22:00 or 22:30 if I can!

During the week I play 18 holes at least once and another 18 holes over the weekend.

You can follow Liz on Twitter @LizYoungGolf



LET Live Scoring   LETAS Live Scoring
Hero Womenīs Indian Open
Delhi Golf Club
New Delhi, India
04/12/14 - 06/12/14
Hero Womenīs Indian Open
ISPS Order of Merit
LET Q-School Rookie of
The Year
ladies European Tour Videos
LET Q-School LET Tour School ladies European Tour Videos
LET Q-School Honorary Membership ladies European Tour Videos
About LET Privacy Policy Site Map Job Opportunities Contact LET

Ladies European Tour Thrax Design